Black Friday Book Haul!

I may have gone a bit overboard on bookoutlet. I swear they’re not paying me to say this, but they are amazing. But their prices are already so low, plus they took 30% off everything, plus you got a coupon for $5 via email!

This was also my first experience ever ordering from them, so I went down my TBR list on Goodreads & just added every title I found to my cart. The most I spent on a book in this entire haul was $4.19. Meanwhile most of these books were list priced at over $20.00 each. Major savings. The majority of them were also bought in hardcover.

Also, add me on Snapchat if you like unboxings because that’s pretty much what I use Snapchat for. It’s wholly dedicated to my bookish stuff, so I don’t post too many personal stories. Just lots of shelfies, quotes, coffee cups, & what not. The packages will probably start coming in next week, so follow me @ReinReads

In no particular order, my Black Friday book haul:

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 5.20.50 PM.png

Wolf in White Van by John Darnielle

I’ve been dying for this one for a while. I’m a huge John Green fan, & by relation a fan of The Mountain Goats, & therefore a John Darnielle fan. It was nominated for a National Book Award & it sounds like my kind of book. From what I undertand it’s also told in reverse chronological order?

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 5.28.01 PM.png

The Tender Hour of Twilight: Paris in the ’50s, New York in the ’60s: A Memoir of Publishing’s Golden Age by Richard Seaver

This was actually recommended to me because I had posted somewhere about ordering another book on this list called Hothouse. It’s a memoir & apparently interests those interested in publishing & writers’ lives & what not. James Salter did the Intro too & it just reminded me that I need to get A Sport and a Pastime by him.

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 5.33.46 PM.png

The Love Affairs of Nathanial P. by Adelle Waldman

I was told to read this & The Marriage Plot so many times by so many different people. I don’t know why, but they’ve always been recommended together to me. What’s the reason for that? Are they similar? Either way, this one has been ordered. It’s about a 30-something-year-old guy & his love life, & a lot of guys say it’s creepily accurate. Plus I love the cover.

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 5.43.30 PM.png

Hemingway & Bailey’s Bartending Guide to Great American Writers by Edward Hemingway & Mark Bailey

First of all, their last names are Hemingway & Bailey. Did they just get together & say, hey,we have the last name of a famous writer & a famous drink, let’s combine the two? Because that’s genius.

So it’s part bio, part cookbook, part story compilation, but all of these bits are alcohol related. I believe you get a little bit of information on some of their drunker life stories, then their drink recipe, & an piece of their writing that is about drinking. This book combines my love of famous writers & booze. I can’t wait to try these out. I think I might actually do a post where I try them out & make them. Let me know if you think that’s a good idea.

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 5.51.48 PM

Welcome to Braggsville by T. Geronimo Johnson

Another National Book Award nominee. I saw this one when it was first released earlier at the begging of this year, but it was always pretty pricey. I’ve grown up in New York. I do not pretend to know much about Southern lifestyle, but I was hoping this book might educate me a bit, while still being entertaining. The characters are all supposed to be around my age, & they deal with relevant issues.

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 5.59.52 PM.png

The Bone Season by Samantha Shannon

I’m late to the party on this one. But apparently it was a top seller on Black Friday, so maybe a lot of others have yet to read it as well. It takes place in futuristic London & absolutely every book blogger has talked about it. It seems to be one of those polarizing books that people either love or didn’t like at all. I’m hoping I love it. I think I got the hardcover edition for a little over two dollars, so even if I don’t, I don’t mind much.

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 6.05.28 PM.png

Hothouse: The Art of Survival and the Survival of Art of America’s Most celebrated Publishing House Farrar, Straus, & Giroux by Boris Kachka

Long title there, Boris. But this is probably going to be the first one I read when this book haul comes in, I’m so excited. It’s basically a history of Farrar, Straus, & Giroux, but told in Madmen-esque, gossipy style. There were only a few copies of this one left, so if this sort of thing interests you, I suggest buying it now!

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 6.10.16 PM.png

Afterworlds by Scott Westerfeld

I read the Uglies series when I was teenager & loved it. I’m curious to see if he still appeals to me. I’ve heard a lot of good things about this one, especially the main story, since I think it’s split between Scott’s character’s story & the story that that character is writing. I was between this one & the first book in the Born of Illusion series. Did I choose wisely?

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 6.16.17 PM

The Flamethrowers by Rachel Kushner

But Alysyn, I said to myself, you just got City on Fire by Garth Risk Hallberg. Isn’t that enough angsty, Village, NYC reading for you? To which I answered, of course not. This was on some list somewhere of “hippy books,” not sure how they were defining hippy, but I’m excited to read it since it’s won so many awards & seems like my type of thing.

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 6.20.38 PM.png

The Steady Running of the Hour by Justin Go

I’m happy they had this edition, because I think it has the nicest cover. I’m not ashamed to admit that I mostly got this because I love the name Tristan. It’s part historical fiction, part love story. I’m not sure if I’ll read this one this month, but I’ve had it on my TBR list for a year now, so I’m happy I’ll finally have a copy.

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 6.25.27 PM.png

You Shall Know Our Velocity! by Dave Eggers

Slowly making my way through all of Dave Eggers’ books. (Just finished  The Circle by the way, have to do that review!) This is next on my list. I don’t know much about it except that it has something to do with friends who travel & give people money. But I trust it, because Eggers has not let me down so far.

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 6.28.35 PM.png

Stein On Writing: A Master Editor of Some of the Most Successful Writers of Our Century Shares His Craft Techniques and Strategies

Stein & Day published stuff by Dylan Thomas, Marilyn Monroe, George Bernard Shaw, etc. Plus he edited for James Baldwin & worked with George Orwell. If I’m being honest I was looking for more of a biography, & if I’m being super honest I was looking for a biography on Maxwell Perkins, but then I came across this & wanted it. I think it might be more for aspiring writers than aspiring editors, but probably still a good read.

Screen Shot 2015-11-27 at 6.34.46 PM

Alias Hook by Lisa Jensen

I loved Never, Never by Brianna Shrum, so I’m hoping this will be just as good, if not better. I’ll buy anything remotely tied to the classic Peter Pan story, plus that cover is beautiful & I bought it in hardcover for under three dollars.

So that’s my Black Friday book haul! I still have so many titles that I really want for Christmas that weren’t available on there. Last year I did a 2014 Wishlist post, so I might do another one this year! Two of the books from this haul were actually on that list, so maybe next year I’ll finally get some of the ones from this one. Let me know if you’ve read any of these, or want to, or hate them, or whatever!

5 thoughts on “Black Friday Book Haul!

Leave a Reply

