Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon!

Pictured above is a photo of the location I’ll be spending my Saturday 🙂 Between my beautiful bookshelves!

I’ve been doing more & more tags & awards, & less & less book reviews recently. My schedule has been crazy, but in the past I’ve always carved out time for reading, especially in the fall. So this Saturday I’m going to participating in Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon! Since I live in New York, it’ll begin around 8:00 AM for me & I’ll probably participate until around 5:00 PM. But I will be reading non-stop!

Be sure to donate for this cause: https://fundraise.pencilsofpromise.org/reinreads

Anyone can sign up to participate & you can cater the hours to your schedule! Just update your blog, Instagram, or Twitter as you read. I’ll be posting my page updates primarily through my twitter. You can even win prizes for participating! If you want to be cheered on, you can check the box for a personal cheerleader! Or choose to be somebody else’s cheerleader & cheer them on as they spend the day reading book after book! You only have to devote an hour to be a cheerleader, so it’s great if you don’t think you’d have enough time to read all day. I didn’t sign up for a cheerleader, just in case there’s a short supply, I rather those who really want one to get one.

I love readathons because there’s something more pleasurable about reading at the same time as others. Often when I read I feel I’m missing out on actual life, but if everybody’s reading, I’m comforted & can really lose myself in the story. I’ll be sticking to certain fiction books I’ve been planning on reading because they recommend books that require less mental energy.

There will also be mini-challenges throughout the day & you can visit their blog for updates!

I encourage all of my followers to sign up or if you already signed up, let me know! I’ll tweet to you this Saturday & we can cheer each other on 🙂

This list is subject to change but here are the books I’ll be reading Saturday:

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 6.07.27 PM

I’m 75% done with this one, so it’ll be great to finally finish!

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 6.07.44 PM

Likewise, about 50% done with this one, so I plan on finishing this as well. This one will also probably be reviewed first since it’s a NetGalley read 🙂

Screen Shot 2015-10-13 at 6.08.24 PM

I probably won’t finish this one by Saturday evening, but damnit I need to get more of it done! I’ve been putting it off because if I’m being honest, it scares me a little. I’ve never been great with creepy reads, but maybe October will put me in the spirit at least for a while!

I’ve already started each of these, but I think this readathon is a great way to finally accomplish finishing them!

4 thoughts on “Dewey’s 24 Hour Readathon!

Leave a Reply

