Three Quotes Book Tag

Thank you to Greenish Bookshelf for tagging me in the three day quote challenge. I know it’s less of a challenge if you do it all in one day, but my schedule is crazy & I still wanted to share some quotes so here’s all three!

The Rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you.
  2. Post a quote for 3 consecutive days (1 quote for each day).
  3. Nominate three new bloggers each day.

The Quotes:

Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 12.49.15 AM

So there’s this movie made in 1959, based on this memoir published in 1958, Beloved Infidel, that recounts this quote said by F. Scott Fitzgerald to Sheilah Graham. The book actually shows you that Fitzgerald is probably not the person you want to marry, because he deals with alcoholism, & affairs, & just being damn crazy. Overall the book is about her though. But I just love Fitzgerald. I think he has this incredibly ability for quotes not unlike Wilde at times. This is probably my favorite because it explains why we love quoting books in the first place.

Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 12.56.09 AM

This is a DFW quote. It’s from Brief Interviews with Hideous Men & it’s the most popular quote in the entire book. It’s a true & observant statement. When you actually think about it, it’s ridiculously beautiful & for some reason rings as very American to me, even though it could certainly be applied to values of multiple cultures.

Screen Shot 2015-10-07 at 12.56.32 AM

I’ve just always wanted this quoted on my arm as a tattoo. I’ve seen this quoted as “to die would be an awfully big adventure” & as “to die will be an awfully big adventure.” When I read it, it had the “will” version & I think I like that a bit better since it’s definite. My friends say it’s a bit depressing, but I think it’s actually incredibly positive. I also think it makes a pretty great tattoo to have with you for life because it’s from a childhood book, but it’s not necessarily a childish quote, which is characteristic of most of J.M. Barrie’s.

The Nominees, Obviously I’d need nine nominees instead of three a day so:

Book Snacks

NyaReads

I Will Never Own Enough Books

Josie’s Book Corner

Todd Louis

Bookish Wander Lover 

The Wild Red Reader

Random Reads

The Bookish Barrister

8 thoughts on “Three Quotes Book Tag

Leave a Reply

