Burrito Book Tag

This tag is creative, funny, & makes me want Chipotle. Thank you Jordan from I Will Never Own Enough Books, she works in Disney & her reviews are perfection. & thank you Aura from The Oxford Writer’s Lounge for tagging me. She plays tons of instruments & has an amazing book out called Secrets of Oxford, so she’s pretty awesome.

RICE: The foundation – “The book that got you into reading (or book blogging)”:

I started book blogging last winter
& the first post I ever did was a book review of My True Love Gave to Me by Stephanie Perkins!

Screen Shot 2015-09-26 at 3.21.01 PM

BEANS: The filler – “A book with a whole lot of nothing happening”:

Yes. Because I hate beans. Even though I thought this one wasn’t horrible, it still seemed like a cool premise without much of a story.

everyday

PROTEIN: The building block- “A book quote to live by”:

“The world is like this, it can kiss you or kill you at any second, & you must never turn away from either possibility.” -Stacey D’Erasmo, Wonderland

wonderland

FAJITAS: The crunch of texture – “A book with immaculate world-building”:

This is probably everybody’s answer. But how can it not be? I swear if I die & I don’t end up spending the rest of eternity in Hogwarts, I’m gonna flip a shit.

hp

SALSA: The dance of flavour – “A book that kept you on your toes”:

DiaryFight Club, both by Chuck Palahniuk. He’s incredible at plot twists. It’s like they’re not even plot twists, they’re like plot reveals or plot explosions.

diary

CORN: The explosion of sweetness – “A memorable scene involving friendship/romance”:

It’s more of a quote, but there’s this one scene in Tenth of December, the last story, where an elderly man who has some mental issues is remembering reconciling with his wife.

He heard her in the entryway. Mol, Molly, oh boy. When they were first married they used to fight. Say the most insane things. Afterward, sometimes there would be tears. Tears in bed? And then they would – Molly pressing her hot wet face against his hot wet face. They were sorry, they were saying with their bodies, they were accepting each other back, and that feeling, that feeling of being accepted back again and again, of someone’s affection for you expanding to encompass whatever new flawed thing had just manifested in you, that was the deepest, dearest thing he’d ever-

51UtWgyTIYL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

CHEESE: The bond of calcium – “Two characters from different books you wish could be friends”:

I think these two groups of friends would make good buddies. They’re both young, but kind of wise beyond their years in that way that only the really smart & outcast high-school kids can be. Plus, no spoilers, but maybe Alaska needed some more friends with harder issues to relate to. I’m just saying.

perkslfa

SOUR CREAM: The tangy topper – “The quirkiest character you’ve ever read (protagonist or supporting)”:

Pretty much everybody in this book. There are plenty of books with a super quirky protagonist or side character, but this is one of the only ones where nearly every character is just eccentric or weird.

hitc

GUACAMOLE: The cost of creaminess – “A book you paid too much for”:

S by J.J. Abrams & Doug Dorst. I have yet to even read this one. Why? Because I don’t technically own it. Why? Because it’s so expensive & I can’t bring myself to buy it. It’s expensive because of the many little notecards & whatnots within, so I understand it’s “worth it.” But I mean, c’mon. Like $25.00?! It’s technically a bargain I guess, considering what you’re getting, but I’m cheap.

s

LETTUCE: The handful or crispness – “A refreshing concept/theme in a book”:

I’m surprised nobody’s thought of this before? Maybe they have? Well this one was amazing. It was convincing & I wanted more, but it ended well. I loved the concept & the story & the characters & I want the movie right now!

Ready_Player_One_cover


CHIPS: Le piéce de résistance – “A must-read recommendation if you like (this book/genre- you decide)”

Okay so this is more of a television/book series comparison, but…

Bloodline_TV_Series_Poster secret_history_penguin

If you watched Bloodline, read The Secret History. If you read The Secret History, watch Bloodline. They are basically the same story, except one is a middle aged family in Florida & the other is pretentious kids at a snooty college. Both are amazing. Seriously amazing. Like my favorites.

TABASCO: The kick to the face — “your favorite fight/action sequence”:

This is one hearty ass burrito…

The fight scenes in A Song of Ice & Fire series are so clear, but still paced well & energetic. They’re dramatic & emotional, & I feel like I’m watching a well choreographed movie. I love them.

asoiaf

I tag…

Booksnacksblog

Thebookgasmblog

The Ultimate Fangirl

& anybody else who wishes to be tagged!

7 thoughts on “Burrito Book Tag

  1. I agree with the beans/every-day, I think if it wasn’t focused on A falling in love, I think it would of made a good fantasy/fiction novel — even series, perhaps.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

