Bath & Body Works Tag

Thank you to Summer at xingsings for tagging me in the Bath & Body Works tag! This tag was created by Analee, so you should visit her page as well. The selections are based on fragrance names, I believe. Sadly there is none for my favorite candle smell, Sweet Cinnamon Pumpkin. But there are plenty of great book recommendations. This post is going to be mainly YA books or books I feel younger audiences would like since the tag is directed at those readers.


bb11. Pure Paradise: A book that was simply perfection.


Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple

I chose this because not only could I not put it down, I immediately wanted to pick it back up. I still want to reread it. I read it everywhere. On the train. Between classes. Waiting rooms. I had to slow down so that I could cherish it longer. The narrative is compelling, told from a child’s POV while the real story centers the mother, Bernadette. Their relationship carries the right balance of realistic & interesting. I never doubted this stuff could actually happen, just that it happens to people far more interesting than myself. Plus I’m a sucker for mother daughter relationship novels. Semple clearly did her research. Everything from the tech honcho references to the breadth of architecture facts are portrayed with amazing accuracy. Every word of the novel is wonderful.


bb22. Sweet Pea: A romance/contemporary novel that you really enjoyed.


Nick & Norah’s Infinite Playlist by Rachel Cohn & David Levithan

That simple, young type of romance, probably best paired with I Want to Hold Your Hand by the Beatles. Told in alternating chapters, it was written by both Rachel Cohn & David Levithan. It was that young & spectacular vibe, but still hinged on believable. None of that sappy, lusty, cheap type of romance you get in most young adult books. Plus the playlist covers The Ramones to Dusty Springfield & I’m all about books with good music references.


bb33. Fresh Strawberries: A book you really enjoyed that came out this year.

Girl In A Band by Kim Gordon

This book fueled my interest in non-fiction a lot for this year. It also was one of the first audiobooks I tried & it was the perfect match. You can read my full review of it by clicking here. I tried to go with something I know most bloggers wouldn’t choose. That being said, A Darker Shade of Magic was wow worthy.


bb44. Warm Vanilla Sugar: A character and/or book that made you feel all warm and smiley.

Harry Potter & the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Obvious choice? I always feel like it’s a cop out to answer any of these with Harry Potter because for most of us, it’s the series that brought us into the wonderful world of reading. I don’t think I need to describe the plot, but for those of you who haven’t read the series. What are you waiting for? I’m so jealous of you all. I wish I could read this for the first time. That being said, everytime I reread these, I’m instantly a kid again. Comforted & warm in my bedroom.


bb55. Paris Amour: A couple you majorly ship together.

The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

Gansey & Blue ❤  If I could, I’d use Harry Potter again (James & Lily are my OTP. Snape & Lily suck. If you ship them, you’re wrong. End of discussion). But since I used it already, I have to go with these guys. Mostly because they’ve been through three books already & the two haven’t even kissed yet. They’re adorable because they’re friends first. Plus we don’t know what will happen in the fourth installment. If Gansey dies I’ll never forgive you Maggie!


bb66. Dancing Waters: A book that takes place on a beach/perfect beach read.


Megan Meade’s Guide to the McGowan Boys by Kate Brian

I read this a very long time ago while staying at a hotel in upstate New York. I still remember reading this by the pool & being completely content with life. It’s a quick YA summer story. A girl moves into a house with seven boys while her parents take some job far far away. If you’re starting high-school or middle school & want to read something light & fluffy, I think you’d love this one. Megan kind of sucks, but the overall plot & the rest of the characters are fun.


bb77. I  Cake Books: Favorite book/character.

Looking for Alaska by John Green

Favorite? Impossible. So I’m going with my favorite John Green book, because let’s face it. He’s the most popular YA guy we all know right now anyway. In my opinion LFA blows TFIOS out of the water. Alaska is my spirit animal & I don’t care if she’s a manic pixie dream girl, I love her. So this also covers my favorite character.


bb88. Winter Candy Apple: A book set around Christmas or during winter.


My True Love Gave to Me: Twelve Holiday Stories edited by Stephanie Perkins

I was going to go with Let It Snow, but that was xinsings’ choice, so I opted for this new anthology. My favorite in the collection was definitely Kelly Link’s story, but they all give you the warm holiday fuzzies. My full review can be seen by clicking here.


bb99. Beautiful Day: A book with an unusual/interesting/appealing setting.


From the Memoirs of A Non-Enemy Combatant by Alex Gilvarry

Mostly set in NYC. Unusual? No. Interesting? Always. But the other setting is Guantanamo Bay… Right? It’s the most specific & hilarious subject matter. The most interesting & thought provoking piece of YA fiction. I challenge you to find something as unique as this book. Gilvarry, you’re a mastermind.


bb1010. Dazzling Diamonds: Gorgeous cover(s).


Aristotle & Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Look at that font! The blues! That author’s name in lime green! That perfect red truck. This cover makes me feel so balanced & happy. It’s whimsical, but it fits the story. Even when they plaster those award medal stickers all over it, I still love this cover. Oh yeah, the story’s great too!

Thanks for reading! I tag the following, plus of course anybody that wishes to do this post at any time in the future! If you end up posting, I’ll tag your name as a link to that post if you want!

alice and the books

becca and books

reisa reads

bookarahma

aira reads

head in the clouds, heart in the books

the book magpie

beachyreads

15 thoughts on “Bath & Body Works Tag

  1. I ship Blue and Gansey as well! I’d be so upset if Gansey dies when Blue finally kisses him. Ah the wait for the last book is killing me. HAHA

    Like

  2. I love Gansey and Blue…I need them together ASAP. I’m going into the next book with the mindset that they will be together…..hoping that my dreams don’t get crushed!!
    I read the Kate Brian book when I was younger & I always thought it was adorable. You’re right, it’s perfect for the summer if you’re looking for something fast & cute. Loved all the choices!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Ahh, I wasn’t expecting to see Nick and Nora’s Infinite Playlist on here… I remember reading that back when I was in middle school. Good times! And Where’d You Go, Bernadette is book on my TBR that I really want to pick up sometime. I’m so glad you loved it! Thank you for participating, Alysyn! Awesome answers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

