The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

sotwba

A massive thank you to manyreads! She nominated me for the Sisterhood of the World Bloggers award! It’s an award that recognizes the unique voices of women across the world! Yay, females!

Rules
  • Thank the blogger who nominated you. √
  • Put the award logo on your blog. √
  • Answer ten questions. √
  • Make up ten new questions. √
  • Nominate ten bloggers & notify them. √

I love these because they’re a good way to discover & promote other blogs, while also talking about yourself. Which is half of why most of us blog anyway, right?

My questions

1. Did you have a book that meant a lot to you as a child?

The Velveteen Rabbit. I’ve said this before. It made me cry a lot. Also Where the Wild Things Are, The Big Orange Splot, & Peter Pan. They made me scared, they made me creative, & they made me confused…respectively, in that order.

2. Is there any author or book that you collect and will always welcome multiple editions of the same title?

I have a few different editions of The Great Gatsby, This Side of Paradise, & some of F. Scott Fitzgerald’s short stories, so my boy, Scotty. I pick up Harry Potter books from garage sales all the time & own at least three copies of each one. I’ll add more, especially with these amazing new editions being revealed year after year by Scholastic & Bloomsbury.

3. Say that you find yourself judging a book by its cover (not that we ever do that!); what sort of covers do you go for? Are there any that are an absolute turn off?

I gravitate toward blue books. Matte books. Books with square spines. I discussed this a little in my Bookish Look-a-likes post.

4. If you could pick any imaginary animal to bring home to Mom with an earnest, “Can we keep him?”, what animal would it be?

I want something that flies, so a pegasus? I was going to say a hippogriff, but bird-like things tend to creep me out. Is there a mythological flying puppy? Like a Falkor? Wasn’t he a dragon? He looked like a white wiener dog, so let’s go with a Falkor.

falkor

Actually, maybe not, he’s kind of creepy looking…

5. Is there any book to movie adaptation that you simply refuse to watch? No way, no how, you’re not even giving them the opportunity to mess it up?

I think I’ll give anything a try. Doesn’t mean I’ll like it, but I’ll try.

6. What is the most unusual book you’ve ever read? (Plot, writing style, chapter layout, etc?)

I’m in the process of reading House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski, so obviously that’s the first thing I could think to answer this one. I also really want to read S. by J.J. Abrams & Doug Dorst.

7. Is there any book or series that you’ve read that is so totally outside of your normal genre, but you loved it and would recommend it to others as a “take a risk!” type of book?

I don’t consider anything my “normal genre,” because I read a little bit from every type, but the books I always push on people are the long ones. They probably own them, but they’re reluctant to devote the time because, what if it’s not worth it? I get that. But the ASoIaF series (Game of Thrones), Infinite Jest, & Anna Karenina are so totally worth it. So read them.

8. Do you have any bookish collections, or anything you covet and hope to someday collect? Candles, artwork, bookcases?

Not bookish, but I have a shit ton of pez dispensers. I hope to own all of Coralie Bickford-Smith’s renditions of classics because they’re gorgeous. 

9. What book has been on your TBR pile the longest, but you just can’t convince yourself to pick it up?

I don’t feel guilt about some of them, like Moby-Dick, because they’re notorious for that. But I’ve owned The Lies of Locke Lamora forever. I’ll get to it eventually…

10. You get a $500 gift card for all things bookish – do you run to your nearest bookstore and spend like a fiend? Or do you create pro/con lists (a la Rory Gilmore) to make sure you get just the right & perfect & wonderful bookish things? Or are you eyeing a particularly expensive bookcase somewhere?

I already have a list of books I definitely want to buy, but can’t afford right now, stored in the notes app of my phone. (The Goldfinch, A Darker Shade of Magic, More Than This, The Pale King) But I don’t think it would equal $500, so maybe save some for later.

YOUR QUESTIONS 

1. Drink of choice while reading? Coffee or tea? Red wine or white? None?

2. Name an indie or lesser known author that’s a favorite of yours. Why? Link to their stuff if you can!

3. Do you think the author’s intent matters most? Or the reader’s interpretation?

4. What’s a book you were originally not a fan of, but then loved?

5. Did you ever have an argument with somebody over/about a book?

6. Do you write in your books?

7. Favorite classic book?

8. Favorite recent book? (recent as in, published in the last ten years or so, I guess)

9. Do you think authorship is especially important? For example, if I’m from New York, should I only write in the voice of someone from New York? What about different ethnicities or genders? Does this only apply when the narration is first-person?

10. Favorite book villain or bad guy?

NOMINEES (I try to do some of the more recent ones I’ve followed)

The Book Hoarder

arelireads

Slayer of YA Fiction

Amanda’s Book Nook

Danissa’s Delightful Book Obsession

Shelfies and Selfies

Little Black Blog

Book High

Books N’ Feathers

Book Beat Blog

Of course, I nominate anybody else who wants to do this as well. Comment below & I’ll link your post here 🙂

Slayer of YA Fiction recented did her post, you can find it by clicking here!

2 thoughts on “The Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award

Leave a Reply

