Game of Thrones / A Song of Ice & Fire Tag

It’s back!

got7

Game of Thrones is back on HBO, making my Sunday nights complete (with help from Silicon Valley directly after), but are you watching it?

There was a lot of boycott talk once it was “revealed” that the show would go beyond the books & start some major spoilers for readers. But didn’t we already know this? I mean, obviously at some point it would probably have to progress quicker than the time it takes for Georgie to chuck out these babies?

I decided I would watch. Mostly because the show has spoiled things for me that I did not read beforehand (I’m talking about the Theon/Reek thing, thank you very much), but I still loved reading it in the book. Totally different experience. Also, (fortunately) the show will likely be different from the books in many ways. Plus, it is absolutely impossible for me to stay spoiler free. All of my friends watch the show. & the books will be better anyway. So it’s not like I’m not going to read them just because I saw the show.

So tonight I tuned in & was not disappointed. I wasn’t expecting the Cersei flashback scene to start the season off, but I think it was perfect. That young actress had Lena Headey nailed. I also loved the scene they added with Loras & Margery. Although while I think TV Show Loras is a total wimp compared to Book Loras, I think TV Show Margery is great. No Arya yet, but it looks like we’ll be seeing her soon enough.

So obviously I want to know what you guys thought. But I also wanted to use the season premiere as an excuse to talk about the books. I was debating on whether I should do a review or what not, when I saw a Game of Thrones tag on youtube. I modified it & added some questions that frequently pop up on Reddit (the general ones, no serious head-scratchers). So here is my version of the Game of Thrones tag! (I know it’s A Song of Ice & Fire, but just go with it)

Also in the interest of letting as many people read this as possible, I’m trying to keep spoilers to a minimum. That being said, don’t read if you want to stay completely in the dark.

got1

1. How did you discover the series/book/both?

This was the only book/series my friends would read back in high-school. After several conversations of “Isn’t it just Lord of the Rings but like…not?” I finally tried it. Season one had already aired, but it wasn’t as popular then & I hadn’t seen it or any of the actors. Once I finished the first book I watched the first season & pretty much progressed in that pattern since, until recently.

2. What house would you want to be in?

Is it bad luck to say Stark? Damn, I’m so basic. I just like direwolves. Maybe House Greyjoy. Although I’m totally not badass enough. So Baratheon? I’ve always wanted an antler tattoo… Of the lesser houses probably Manderly or Estermont because: mermans & turtles.

3. Who is your favorite character from the House of Stark?

Rickon. When I first started the series I had this impression he’d had this weird dark side? Did anybody else get that vibe? I mean, he was like…three…so I’m probably just making this up, but how cool would that be? But also Arya because she’s just awesome.

got2

4. Who is your favorite character from the House of Lannister?

got5

Tyrion. He’s walkin around like he’s smarter than you cause he probably is. Cersei’s chapters annoy the living shit out of me. Jaime gets some redemption, but he still pretty much sucks.

5. Who is your favourite character?

Too many! I loved Beric Dondarrion & I still say he’s my favorite. I rather have him around than Catelyn. Davos is adorable. Littlefinger is a lot less gimmicky in the books & obviously an important player. I also like Alayne a lot more than Sansa because she’s finally a little less naive. How can you not love Arya & Tyrion? (Although Book Tyrion is way less obviously the constant voice of reason) Oh & Jon Snow. Duh. Although, I really hate Show Jon Snow…Show Snow, ha. (Kit Harington fans, please don’t kill me)

6. Who is your least favorite character?

Catelyn. Ugh. The motherly this & the motherly that. Cersei has this problem too, but at least she’s witty sometimes. Euron sounds like a real dick. Lysa Arryn & Robert Arryn. Actually, this could be why I like Petyr so much, because I really hated Lysa. Also Ramsey, especially in the show. Those torture scenes were awful. But I actually like a lot of the “villains.” They’re fun.

got4

7. Which was your favorite book so far?

A Storm of Swords I laughed, I cried, mostly cried.

8. Least favorite book?

A Clash of Kings. It just tends to blend into this weird memory of the first & third.

9. What is your favorite episode/season?

Winter is Coming, Blackwater, The Prince of Winterfell, The Rains of Castarmere, The Lion & the Rose, The Watchers on the Wall. I don’t think I have a favorite season, but maybe season 3.

10. Who is your Game of Thrones crush?

For the show? Robb Stark by far. Richard Madden. Swoon.

Although Daario Naharis would be second. For the books, nobody. They’re all twisted. You don’t wanna date that kind of crazy.

But I mean,

got3

Too. Much. Cute. *explodes*

11. What are you most looking forward to in the upcoming season/book/both?

Everything. I’m evil in that I love deaths, which you can always count on.

12. What is your favorite theory?

The obvious R+L=J theory. Plus the one where the other houses conspired against the mad king to have him overthrown. The Hound as the gravedigger theory. Alleras as the Sphnix theory. There’s more, but they’re too spoilery, about characters’ deaths & what not.

13. Least favorite theory?

I hate a lot of the ones where people are secretly still alive as a warg animal or through another character. Also a lot of the ones where Character A is actually Character B’s child. Obviously, I have MAJOR exceptions to this. But, my least favorite is Tyrion is a Targaryen. I hate that one.

got6

14. If you’ve read the books & watch the show, what’s something they changed that you didn’t like?

Jojen 😥 Why’d they do that? It’s so petty compared to others, but it irked me. Also, the alter sex scene with Cersei & Jaime. A lot of people hated on this & I totally get why. But I was really happy they still remind viewers that Jaime isn’t necessarily a good guy. Also, the change of Roose Bolton’s line to “the Lannisters send their regards.” I know why they did it, but still. It was so witty with Jaime’s innocent comment earlier on.

15. What was your proudest aha! moment?

I’ve gotten better at these the more I read. For example, the Whitebeard/Ser Barristan thing caught me off guard. But recently I was proud for figuring out the Tom O’Sevens as the singer in the scene with Edmure & Jaime before it was revealed in A Feast for Crows. Also the significance of that.

16. Favorite quote?

“You raped her. You murdered her. You killed her children.” Repeat X.

“Rhaegar fought valiantly, Rhaegar fought nobly, Rhaegar fought honorably. And Rhaegar died.”

“Why is it that when one man builds a wall, the next man immediately needs to know what’s on the other side?”

“Only Cat”

“Hodor,” said Hodor.”

got8

Hope you liked this if you’re a fellow fan! Please comment or do this tag. If you haven’t read the books or at least watched the show, what are you waiting for? Get on that.

24 thoughts on “Game of Thrones / A Song of Ice & Fire Tag

  1. okay ive been anticipating this post! 😀 the flashback scene, oh i agree it was a perfect way to start this season haha. well, i mean i almost agree to everything you said here. like, I’d want to be in House Stark as well, and love both characters of Arya and Tyrion ❤ 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Ughh, this post was everything I live for xD Is the boycotting an actual thing? The show’s doing a lot of things that are completely different from the books, and though I think they’re going in the same direction, I think we’re going to get to this direction in two different ways. And I like that. xD It’s like I’ll be surprised in the show and the books. Double power xD

    Liked by 1 person

    • I agree completely. The show has already taken some turns away from the books in the past & I feel like now it’ll start to diverge even more. It’s a different medium so they can do a lot of different things to better tell the story.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. A lot of crying and sadness but I would prefer House Stark , the remaining houses I’m not sure I would survive in . I have to say I want mind blown by yesterday’s premiere and I was so angry with Jamie although I already read it in the book , that scene still sucked. Yup , Sansa is becoming a badass , penny finger is good for her , for now at least . I really detested her rift from the beginning now I’m wavering. Let me stop my Rant . I think I might have to speed up my reading of A dance with Dragons though . Great post 😄

    Liked by 1 person

    • True, House Stark probably wouldn’t stab me in the back the way some other houses might. & I tend to get more annoyed with Cersei during these next upcoming scenes (if they stay in line with the books). But I love rants, so go ahead! It’s partially why I blog haha

      Like

  4. I have a sort of out there theory that Jon Snow will actually get recruited by the White Walker King and he’ll side with them and Jon Snow will become a king of all Westeros as a White Walker when the long winter finally comes haha

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve read some stuff about him being reborn as Azor Ahai but I like yours better. It would make sense. Even though the white walkers creep me out on the show haha. He could be the ice vs Daenerys’ fire maybe?

      Liked by 1 person

      • Maybe haha happy you like the idea, I’ve been debating in my head how George RR Martin could make such linear characters play such a vital role but I think the White Walkers have to have a whole bunch of dimensions for them to feel like they fit in the show. I don’t know how much I’m spoiling here and it’s only speculation really but some people think the Night’s King is actually the ancestor of the starks and that they’ll side with the white walkers in the end, too many variables in play to know for certain what will happen though just speculation Dany better invade soon though haha

        Liked by 1 person

      • Yeah, I also think that show watchers sometimes forget the white walkers are even there. Sometimes that might happen while reading too, but I think it’s more present. I almost wish I started reading this series later once it was completed.

        Liked by 1 person

      • True it’s driving me crazy speculating on these things haha I didn’t start getting into it until a couple years ago but there’s so many different directions he could take the show, I hope the white walkers can somehow speak english at some point though them only speaking as crackling ice is cool but I’d like to start hearing their perspective on the state of affairs

        Liked by 1 person

      • “Speaking as crackling ice is cool” haha seriously, some people say they’re actually speaking the old tongue, which would be cool if it was translated by somebody from beyond the wall.

        Liked by 1 person

      • That would be a crazy dynamic haha the white walkers win, establish their own rule and political systems, a couple decades pass, then kevin spacey comes in as one of the lower white walkers as he tries to overthrow the night’s king and they make a spinoff house of cold cards

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

