The Districts Tag

I love book tags. This one was made by CityOfYABooks who is a booktuber. But I like blogging them because bringing these tags to different sites makes it more fun. The theme is based off of Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games series. There are twelve questions & each relates to one of the twelve districts. But I’m going to include books that aren’t YA because I read other genres a lot. Plus I’m limiting myself to only include books I currently have on my shelf.

So #1. Opulence:

dt1

The goal here is to name a book where there is a clear display of luxury. For this one I chose The Beautiful & Damned by F. Scott Fitzgerald, but I’m pretty sure you could choose any one of his works & it would apply. I’m a bit of a Fitzgerald nut & have these pretty editions designed by Coralie Bickford-Smith. He has a weird love/hate relationship to the wealthy class in my opinion.

#2. Masonry/Weaponry:

dt2

This one required you to pick a book with a lot of war or violence so I chose War & Peace. My copy looks like it’s been through war… I had a lot of options for this one, but I’ve always been a Tolstoy fan. It centers the French invasion of Russia & I might read this one again soon. The first time I read it I was a lot younger & I think I’d appreciate it more now. So I needed to go with this baby.

#3. Technology:

dt3

Self-explanatory. ttfn by Lauren Myracle (one of the authors of Let It Snow) is a YA book I used to own the whole series for, but now can only find this one. It follows a group of girls who are best friends. The whole series is written in the format of instant messages that the girls send each other, but the way it held my attention with so little live-time-action is really a skill. I really recommend these because they’re quick & fun.

#4. Fishing:

dt12

Pick a water based book. I went with The Sea Wolf by Jack London. I started reading London’s stories after Call of the Wild & this would probably be my second favorite. There’s a ship & a mutiny & I don’t want to try to summarize it too much because it’s better if you just go into it without knowing.

#5. Power:

dt4

Pick a “powerful” book. People have interpreted this one different ways. Some chose a book that was powerful to them personally, others chose a book where the characters & themes dealt with power struggles. I almost went the more literal route of an electricity book like The City of Ember. But I’m going to define power as success so that I can choose The Outliers by Malcom Gladwell. A lot of people promote this book as one of those books you need to read even if you’re not necessarily a reader & it’s true. My nonreader friends even liked this one, though some didn’t finish it because I will admit, the idea gets a little repetitive, but not at all any less interesting. But if you read the first few examples, you’ll be hooked onto this book.

#6. Transportation:

dt5

A book that takes place in many locations. I chose Jumper: Griffin’s Story by Steven Gould, because I lent out my first Jumper book & never got it back, but I think they all apply here. (Griffin is the one in the movie who kind of resembles a scruffy gerbil.) The story mainly takes place in San Diego & England, but the point is that the characters can go anywhere they choose to. The cover even says it.

#7. Lumber:

dt6

Pick a book with manual labor. I copied BangadyBangz‘s choice for this one because it’s a good one. Holes by Louis Sachar. I just reread this recently for a Children’s literature class & I think I liked it so much more the second time around. In fact, I don’t know many kids who enjoyed this book as kids, although obviously there must be some, it’s incredibly popular. But I know a lot of people my age who love it now. So I will say that if you had to read this for your third grade English class & hated it like I did, maybe give it another try. Also read it if you love the movie!

#8. Textiles:

dt10

Pick a novel where the characters wear amazing clothes. I chose From the Memoirs of a Non-Enemy Combatant. I cannot praise this book enough. I don’t see enough younger people reading it. It’s intelligent, controversial, & hilarious. I’ll just give you the premise & you can tell me how awesome it sounds: It follows Boyet Hernandez, a high-end Filipino fashion designer living in NYC who is locked away in Guantanamo Bay & is forced to recollect & record the events that got him there. If that’s not one of the most original sentences you’ve ever read, I don’t know what is.

#9. Grain:

dt7

Pick a book where food is scarce. I went with a different kind of book, My Drunk Kitchen by Hannah Hart is part cookbook, part guidebook, part coming of age story. If you follow her youtube channel, you already know how hilarious she is & probably own this book. She offers recipe examples to make when the food in the fridge is low & the booze in the cabinet is a little higher. But along the way she includes her advice, memories, & frequent puns, as little connections to each recipe category. Definitely a good read even if you’re not planning on cooking anything. But if you’re like me & suck at making the simplest of dishes, but love drinking, I recommend her version of the Scotch Egg available on page 35.

#10. Livestock:

dt8

Pick a book that features animals. This is clearly the obvious choice. George Orwell’s Animal Farm. I think Archer sums it up pretty nicely. Although I wouldn’t say it sucks, I just loved it’s ideas more than I loved it’s story. Though my boyfriend will kill me because this is his favorite. Snowball is his favorite character of all time.

Screen Shot 2015-03-15 at 6.24.18 PM

#11. Agriculture:

dt9

For this one you have to pick a book where the character goes from an easy life to a harsh & gritty reality. I guess agriculture is a little hard to come up with a theme for since you’ve already used manual labor & livestock. But anyway, I chose The Lord of the Flies by William Golding. The characters definitely go from easy, civilized lives to savage, harsh ones. Ralph is one of my favorites because I think he has one of the greatest examples of growth or an arc in a young character.

#12. Mining:

dt11

Pick a book that is dark & sinister. I don’t know why my mind interpreted this as “pick a suspense book,” but it did. I tend to not like suspense novels. But I really loved A Dog’s Ransom by Patricia Highsmith. I don’t know how she does it. It’s like she writes on some weird almost literary scale of mystery. Super good book. Bonus points because it takes place in New York.

Those are my choices! I think this was a pretty fun tag. I like using tags as a way of doing mini-reviews, but I also like them because people choose completely different books for the same category sometimes. So as always, I tag anybody who wants to do this post. Let me know if you do & I’ll link it here 🙂

Update: aliceandthebooks recently did the tag! Loved her choices!

7 thoughts on “The Districts Tag

Leave a Reply

