March Releases

I keep track of certain upcoming books & when they’ll be released. So my calendar looks as if it’s filled with jam-packed Tuesdays, but in reality it’s just a series of new release titles.

But I figured I’d start the month with a list of some books I had locked on my radar, instead of a TBR. One, because I never commit to a TBR (every month for the past five months has had A Feast for Crows on it. Two, so that you guys can stay updated & figure out what you may want to get your hands on this month.

I’ll be tweeting the books I list on the days of their release as well.

So here’s the variety show:

March 3rd (TODAY! YAY)

Mosquitoland by David Arnold

“After the sudden collapse of her family, Mim Malone is dragged from her home in northern Ohio to the ‘wastelands’ of Mississippi, where she lives in a medicated milieu with her dad and new stepmom. Before the dust has a chance to settle, she learns her mother is sick back in Cleveland.

So she ditches her new life and hops aboard a northbound Greyhound bus to her real home and her real mother, meeting a quirky cast of fellow travelers along the way. But when her thousand-mile journey takes a few turns she could never see coming, Mim must confront her own demons, redefining her notions of love, loyalty, and what it means to be sane.”

Why I marked it: I read the blurb & liked the cover. I like road trip/travel type stuff. This one has a cute & quirky vibe about it. This is Arnold’s debut novel & I’ve been trying to read more new authors.

Becoming Steve Jobs by Brent Schlender & Rick Tetzeli

takes on and breaks down the existing myth and stereotypes about Steve Jobs. The conventional, one-dimensional view of Jobs is that he was half-genius, half-jerk from youth, an irascible and selfish leader who slighted friends and family alike. Becoming Steve Jobs answers the central question about the life and career of the Apple cofounder and CEO: How did a young man so reckless and arrogant that he was exiled from the company he founded become the most effective visionary business leader of our time, ultimately transforming the daily life of billions of people?”

Why I marked it: Steve Jobs. That, & I’ve watched too much Silicon Valley. The majority of biographies I’ve read were all musicians, so this would be a nice change.

Young Skins: Stories by Colin Barrett

“Enter the small, rural town of Glanbeigh, a place whose fate took a downturn with the Celtic Tiger, a desolate spot where buffoonery and tension simmer and erupt, and booze-sodden boredom fills the corners of every pub and nightclub. Here, and in the towns beyond, the young live hard and wear the scars. In each story, a local voice delineates the grittiness of Irish society; unforgettable characters whose psychological complexities and unspoken yearnings are rendered through silence, humor, and violence.”

Why I marked it: I like short stories. I just recently learned what people were referring to when they say “Celtic Tiger.” It sounds like my cup of tea, despite my extreme American pride ish ness.

Rock (Hard Rock Harlots Series #4) by Kendall Grey

Letty Fucking Dillinger would’ve described herself as “The Rock in your cock, the cream in your wet dream, the spunk in your junk.” She had everything and no regrets. But everything changed when she exploded on the scene. Now she doesn’t even know who she is anymore.

Why I marked it: I’ve never heard of this series before, but it looks awesome. The cover makes it seem YA, but all blurbs & comments assure readers it’s for mature audiences only. I mean look at that quote! “Rock in your cock.” I love it. I’m laughing already. Down with the slut-shamers! Hooray for sexual chicks! & what not…

March 10th

Confess by Colleen Hoover

“Auburn Reed has her entire life mapped out. Her goals are in sight and there’s no room for mistakes. But when she walks into a Dallas art studio in search of a job, she doesn’t expect to find a deep attraction to the enigmatic artist who works there, Owen Gentry. For once, Auburn takes a risk and puts her heart in control, only to discover Owen is keeping major secrets from coming out.

The last thing Owen wants is to lose Auburn, but he can’t seem to convince her that truth is sometimes as subjective as art. All he would have to do to save their relationship is confess. But in this case, the confession could be much more destructive than the actual sin…”

Why I marked it: I’m not sure if I’ll read this one, there would be a lot of things about it that would piss me off if it tries to be arty in a cheesy way. But it seems to be pretty popular. Hoover is a NYT bestseller & Goodreads is also currently hosting a giveaway for it, so if I win I’d definitely read it & do a review.

Dead Wake by Erik Larson

“Full of glamour, mystery, and real-life suspense, Dead Wake brings to life a cast of evocative characters, from famed Boston bookseller Charles Lauriat to pioneering female architect Theodate Pope Riddle to President Wilson, a man lost to grief, dreading the widening war but also captivated by the prospect of new love. Gripping and important, Dead Wake captures the sheer drama and emotional power of a disaster that helped place America on the road to war.”

Why I marked it: I’m a Titanic fanatic. Yet I know virtually nothing about the Lusitania. Plus the release date is purposely set to coincide with the 100th anniversary of its sinking, so I feel a strange obligation to note this one.

Savor: Living Abundantly Where You Are, As You Are by Shauna Niequist

“Part cookbook. Part devotional. Niequist writes about the beautiful & broken moments of everyday life-friendship, family, faith, food, marriage, love, babies, books, celebration, heartache, & all the other things that shape us, delight us, and reveal to us the heart of God.”

Why I marked it: To be honest, I don’t care about most of that stuff. I’m just loving the nice dig at Eat, Pray, Love that’s implied here. (My anger with E.P.L. runs deep. White woman travels to three beautiful, amazing foreign countries & somehow undergoes some deep spiritual transition? Sorry we all can’t drop our lives & jobs, & go on vacation for half a year to solve our problems).

March 24th

The Island of Dr. Libris by Chris Grabenstein

“What if your favorite characters came to life? Billy’s spending the summer in a lakeside cabin that belongs to the mysterious Dr. Libris. But something strange is going on. Besides the security cameras everywhere, there’s Dr. Libris’s private bookcase. Whenever Billy opens the books inside, he can hear sounds coming from the island in the middle of the lake. It’s almost as if the stories he’s reading are coming to life! But that’s impossible . . . isn’t it?”

Why I marked it: This sounds freaking adorable. Robin Hood, Tom Sawyer!? I hope they interact with each other because that’s fanfiction waiting to happen. I also have an insane weakness for a good children’s story. If they threw in some crazy illustrations then I’d be bouncing off the walls with excitement right now.

Half Wild (The Half Bad Trilogy #2) by Sally Green

“In a modern-day England where two warring factions of witches live amongst humans, seventeen-year-old Nathan is an abomination, the illegitimate son of the world’s most powerful and violent witch. Nathan is hunted from all sides: nowhere is safe and no one can be trusted. Now, Nathan has come into his own unique magical Gift, and he’s on the run–but the Hunters are close behind, and they will stop at nothing until they have captured Nathan and destroyed his father.”

Why I marked it: Because every other post on Instagram is of Half Bad & the cover isn’t half bad looking so I should probably give this series a try. Plus if any of you guys live in the UK, check out this event page (bonus points for Jennifer Niven-All the Bright Places author-).

March 31st

Billie Holiday: The Musician & the Myth by John Szwed

“Drawing on a vast amount of new material that has surfaced in the last decade, critically acclaimed jazz writer John Szwed considers how her life inflected her art, her influences, her uncanny voice and rhythmic genius, a number of her signature songs, and her legacy.”

Why I marked it: I’m so excited for this one. I’m going through a bit of an Aretha Franklin kick right now with my iPod, Billie Holiday, Ella Fitzgerald, & Dinah Washington were all Aretha Franklin influences, so I’m hoping by the end of the month to shift to those three.

Also want to note that the sequel to Dorothy Must Die comes out at the end of this month & I’ll tweet that too. But I have no intention of reading it. Others worthy of a mention are Youtuber Shane Dawson with I Hate MyselfieIt’s Only Stanley children’s book by Jon Agee, Young Eliot: A Biography of T.S. Eliot by Robert Crawford, & Aquarium by David Vann.

I’m not guaranteeing I’ll read all of these releases (I am financially incapable). But these are definitely the ones I’m most excited about. Let me know if you guys are hyped for any March release that is or isn’t on here! If you do want a TBR you can check my Instagram in the next few days for one, but it’ll most likely change.

Leave a Reply

