The Bout of Books!

The Bout of Books read-a-thon done by these guys. It is a week long read-a-thon from January 5th to Sunday, January 11th. Challeneges & giveaways! It’s very low key this year because they have eliminated their reading goal set. Now you can set your reading goal to whatever you want it to be personally, or not set one at all!

This is my first year participating, but I like it because it’s a great way to connect bloggers & promote the books we’re each reading. My goal for this week is to finish one book. It will most likely be either The Diviners, Trespassing On Einstein’s Lawn, or Wonderbook. Each of these presents its own challenges. I’m not really in the mood for a YA thriller right now, but I’m pushing my way through The Diviners faster than others. The Libba Bray really beats you over the head with the 1920s references. It’s a bit annoying because you feel like she’s trying too hard to prove she knows about the era by including random historical figures from the time or obscure 20s lingo. Trespassing On Einstein’s Lawn is just slow reading. I need to really absorb the information because a lot of it is theoretical physics talk & God knows my high-school Physics grade wasn’t the first letter of the alphabet…or the second. And Wonderbook is amazing. It’s a writing guide book if writing guide books were actually awesome & beautiful. The reason it’s taking me a while is because there are so many writing prompts I like doing in it!

But hopefully this challenge just gets me to read more. I’ve been in a slump since New Year’s Day. After a semester of reading nonstop, I wanted a break to binge on Friends reruns via Netflix (goal completed, ten seasons in five days has to be some kind of ‘you-have-no-life’ record).

But let me know if you’re participating! I’ll keep going to this blogpost to post updates or updates on my twitter!

For all Bout of Books 12 information & updates, be sure to visit the Bout of Books blog.

Leave a Reply

